The Department of Sociology at the University of Dhaka was established in 1957 with the support of UNESCO. Professor A. K. Nazmul Karim, one of the founders of Bangladesh sociology, began serving in 1958 as the inaugural Bengali head of the Department. Now, this Department has the country's largest and leading sociology program. It has over 30 faculty members and nearly 1,130 students in its graduate and undergraduate programs. The faculty members have Ph.D. and Master's degrees from reputed universities of North America, Europe, Australia, and Asia. They are nationally and internationally known scholars, teachers, and activists. The Department offers four distinct degrees: Bachelor of Social Science, Master of Social Science, M.Phil, and Ph.D. The Department's contributions to empirical research were/are informed by many sociological schools, including Marxist and Neo-Marxist approaches, modernization theory, functionalist theory, interactionist theory, critical theory, and postmodern theory. The Department also contributed by offering various theoretical ideas and introducing methodological concepts from Bangladesh's perspective. Overall, from 1957 to 2021, this Department has made a tremendous contribution to Bangladesh society by producing a significant body of scholarship, developing human capital through teaching and training, institutionalizing sociology across Bangladesh, formulating public policies, and building public opinions.